Posted by: gourmetfelted | August 28, 2015

Needle Felted Animals by Gourmet Felted

il_fullxfull.815082307_lcql

I was recently asked if I felted other animals besides cats and dogs! YES!!I do! Here is a Custom Shetland Pony that I just finished. Since I usually felt dogs or cats, it was fun to make an animal for something different. This pony was named Sydney and she had a nice round belly.

il_fullxfull.332284906

This Sculpture was made from photos of someone’s favorite squirrel named Ms. Webster who visits her house every day! Each handmade art sculpture is brimming with personality.

It was interesting to note that gray squirrels have NO gray fur on them! They are covered with black and white hairs that our EYES blend together to make gray. They are really an optical illusion! LOL! It took me two hours just to blend and layer the fur together to make the tail!. Ms. Webster is holding a needle felted peanut… her favorite treat!

il_fullxfull.282376329

This is an adorable English budgie or parakeet named Chirpie.  She is a sky blue pied Parakeet. It is a challenge to get wool to look like feathers but I tried! This cute parakeet was made for someone who was allergic to birds! She put it in a cage that she had and gave her some birdseed! Next best thing right?
She has poseable feet for gripping and sculpted nostrils and beak. This is a Full sized parakeet!

il_fullxfull.282375061

So here are a few of my felted animals. I have made more interesting animals like a Prairie Dog, Guinea Pig, wolves, foxes, a baby swan, penguin, etc. To see more please visit!

https://www.etsy.com/shop/GourmetFelted

Click on the  Needle Felted Animals section. Thanks!

See you there!

~Gerry


Responses

  1. Oh wow!! How cool!! It looks like a Haflinger!! How darling!!

    • Hi Shon,
      Thank you so much for your kind words on my Pony. Yes I do see the resemblance in the color! I love your horned toad painting!
      ~Gerry

  2. Absolutely astonishing! Wish I had a tenth of your talent!

    • Thank you MacCupcake! Cute name! I am really fussy about my sculptures! Thanks for noticing:)
      ~Gerry

  3. Your new animals are great! I hope you’ll do some snakes and maybe an Iguana too!

    • Hi Giftbearer!
      Snakes and an Iguana! Now that would be fun! Thanks for the suggestions!
      ~Gerry

  4. beautiful work,just started needle felting and I can appreciate the hours you put into your craft………

    • Hi Barbara,
      Thank you very much for your kind words on my sculptures! My sculptures have changed much over the years as I have tried to improve them as much as I can. I usually take two hours to make the core base sculpture. Right now I have been concentrating on improving my cat sculptures!
      Happy Felting!!
      ~Gerry

  5. Gerry-these are superb!

    • Thanks so much Elena! Many hours and much love goes into each of my sculptures!

  6. So glad to find your blog still current! I did a search about using poly fiber fill as core that landed me here. I am brand new to felting, and my passion is bunnies. My hope is that I will develop a talent for felting bunnies so that I can help to memorialize those of my friend’s pets that have crossed the rainbow bridge. Love your blog! Love all of this wonderful information that you’ve shared!

    • Hi Cyndi,
      Thank you for your kind words on my blog. I hope that I can inspire people and help with their felting adventures! When I started needle felting 8 years ago, there was next to nothing about needle felting so it was a lot of trial and error. I figured that I would share what I learned to make it easier for new felters! Please feel free to ask any questions that you may have! Maybe I can help🙂
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

  7. I, too, am a new filter. I am so glad I found your site throlugh your needle size post. I am interested in learning how to do small (doll house size) critters like puppies, bunnies, kittens etc. I have been looking through your past posts and wonder how you made the little chickens. They are darling. A ? about needles. How do you know what size they are? You talked about the shape which was wonderful, but noit size. Do you color code them somehow. Also Cindy asked about using poly fiber for the core. Does sthat work well for the core? Any saving on fine wool is a good thing I say, if, and only if, it works. Thank you for all you have done for this art form. I look forward, as a new member, for your tips.

    • Hi Rosemarie.
      I would use a coarse wool like romney for mini animals. I use a #36 coarse needle or a #38 medium star needle for details on all of my sculptures. I do purchase color coded needles to make it easier. You get to know the “feel” of different needles and you can see how large the holes are that they leave to tell the size. I wouldn’t use polyfil on tiny critters. I would use pure wool. Polyfil is great for super large pieces to save on wool. Some people also use light weight foam inside like Styrofoam. Polyfil that is in a thin flat layer for quilts or blanket doesn’t felt as the fibers are too short. The loose bags that are fluffy work better. I have been felting for 8 years and am happy to help! Please feel free to ask any questions anytime!
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

      • Thank you. I received your packet today with the kit for the little dog, and have tried to access the tutorial via your site as noted in your note Sorry, but I can’t find it. Also, is the wool you sent as the core wool Romney? I only ask because I don’t know the difference between any of the wool textures and have bought only morino thus far.
        I live in Alaska and have few sheep so have just picked this and that in preparation. 😅

      • Hi Rosemarie,
        Yes the core wool is romney wool. I like it for cores as it felts faster and creates a firm base. I use soft finer wools like merino as a topcoat. It makes a smooth surface for short coats and if you use a fine needle like a #40 then the holes are smaller. Here is the tutorial link for your kit.
        https://gourmetfelted.wordpress.com/2009/01/01/needle-felted-sheep-tutorialtip-of-the-weekwith-armature/
        Happy felting!
        ~Gerry

  8. Oh dear, the wrong tutorial. I ordered one of the little dogs #1060409094 on 9/11/15. I have to little collar, the wool, needles, but not directions. You may email personally if you like. Did I perhaps order the little lamb and forgot about it? I have more senior moments than I can handle at times🙂

    • The tutorial is for a sheep OR dog. The technique is the same using the white core wool instead of the black. You add a dog nose with the black silky fiber. I also include pink if you want to put some on the tummy. You can make a longer body dog like a Bichon Frise or a regular shape like a poodle. Have fun with it and don’t be afraid to experiment! Be VERY careful with the felting needles as they are quite sharp and easily draw blood! Peroxide cleans it off of wool easily. No senior moment! You did order the dog kit with the bonus collar. Thank you!
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

  9. Hi Gerry, do you have any suggestions for what type of wire armature I should use for a very large needle felted dog? Like a life size one? I usually use floristry wire for small ones but don’t think that will be anywhere near strong enough to hold him up!! Any help appreciated! I love your blog🙂 so helpful and informative and your work is inspiring.
    Kerry,
    Feelingfelty.wordpress.com

    • Hi Kerry,
      Thank you for your kind words about my blog and sculptures! I would use a thicker wire like a 20 gauge and double or triple it for a very large item. You could twist it around or braid it to make one strand from several. Best to experiment and see what will work for you. Happy felting!
      ~Gerry

      • Thanks. That’s a good idea. Think it’s going to cost me an arm and leg by the time I’m done!
        Kerry
        Feelingfelty.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

