Posted by: gourmetfelted | December 28, 2014

Your Needle Felting Questions Answered by Gourmet Felted

il_fullxfull.493499960_ceb7

QUESTION  :

I had a question about felting with polyfill. My friend is allergic to wool and unsure about other animal fibres and we were told he could use polyfill

Are there any tricks to using it ? How smooth/finished will it come out with the synthetic, compared to traditional wool?

ANSWER:

When I started needle felting I used polyfill for my core bases. It felts well except for the kind that is in flat sheets and is used for a quilt. The fibers were too short to felt together at all. Then I would use any of the vegan fibers available for fur. The final look would be the same as using all animal products. Sometimes I use vegan fibers for people who are allergic and request it.

Some people have used polyfill and foam for the inside of a  really large piece. This would save on wool which is more expensive than polyfill or foam. I recycle the softer foam that you get in packages in the mail to felt on.

I rarely use “traditional wool” which is usually merino for my sculptures. It is very fine and takes much longer to felt firmly. It is good for a smooth surface like skin. If you use a fine felting needle like a #40 or #42 then the holes are smaller as the needles are thinner.  I like to use a coarse wool for my bases as the wool felts faster and is much stronger.
Thanks for your great question! Happy Felting!
~Gerry

Responses

  1. Question,
    Im a newbie to felting and found it really fun! My question is, when adding details like lines, do your try to roll a thin strip of wool with your fingers first and then start needling it on? or is there a better way?

    • Hi Hollie,
      I’m not sure what you mean by “lines”? Do you mean wrinkles?
      ~Gerry

  2. Hi have recently found the Magic of felting just love it, have made just 6 so far , really would love to do my grandsons Shit Sui Oops ? Spelling , , not sure how to go about the long fur, and what wool would you advise, thank you , just love your work, getting excited just looking at them , what a talent you have only found your site today

    • Hi Sheila,
      So glad that you found needle felting! It is fun! I would use a silky fiber for a Shih Tzu. Thank you for your kind words on felting. I have been felting for 8 years now and have always loved dogs.
      Happy felting!
      ~Gerry

      • Thank you very much for your reply, when you say silky do you mean Moreno wool , or something different ? Just dying to have a go, find it so therapeutic

      • I would use a fiber that is more like hair. Silk fiber or a wool silk blend would be good for a Shih Tzu. I don’t sell any of those but I get most of my fiber on Etsy. I rarely use merino.
        Thanks for your question!
        ~Gerry

      • Thank you again for your valued help, will check out with Etsy, also glass eyes thank you again, happy felting


Leave a Reply

Categories

