Posted by: gourmetfelted | July 31, 2013

My FIRST Needle Felted Guinea Pig by Gourmet Felted

guinea pig new 010

I just got an order for my first guinea pig. Not just a regular one but a long coated Abyssinian!! You know, the long silky coated ones with the whirls of fur that are like cow licks? How could I make that fur?

Well. I started with some lovely black mohair as I figured it had enough body to stand up in the whirl patterns….it did but it had a little crimp and wasn’t silky enough so after I had a large area furred I had to pull it all out and start over again!! Bother! Has that ever happened to you?

fur guinea pig 003

So then I added some silky fur. Much better!

fur guinea pig 023After hours of inserting tiny tufts of silky fiber all over the body I ended up with a pretty furry guinea pig! I had a hard time blending the fiber to make it look more natural. I hope that they like it. It was a learning experience and YES…even after 6 years of needle felting I am still learning!! LOL!

giunea pig momma 003Momma guinea pig loves carrots so I felted one for her.

momma ready to ship 003Here she is already to go to her new home! Good bye Momma!


Responses

  1. Niesamowicie robisz te swoje filcaki. Gratuluję podobieństwa do oryginałów.
    Pozdrawiam.

  2. I just love Needle Felting but I need help. What is a good instructional book I can buy? You do a great job.

  3. love it….i felt too and when a project looks real i know it’s done well..good job

    • Thanks so much for your comment Barbara! You made my day!

      ~Gerry

  4. Wow! Looks real. Your comment, “goodbye, momma,” rang true with me. I was considering selling some of my felted critters but I get too attached to them.

    • Hi Elena,
      Welcome to my blog! Elena is my mom’s name! I totally agree with you about getting attached to our felties!! Sometimes I want to buy them back~~LOL!!

      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

  5. When I saw that first photo I though it was an actual guinea pig hah. Such amazing work! It’s also nice to see process photos, it inspires me to try new techniques and to be more adventurous in needle felting🙂

    • Hi Cloe!
      Thank you for your kind words on my felted guinea pig. Many hours and much love goes into each of my sculptures! I strive for realism with a touch of whimsey! I am glad that I could be an inspiration for you🙂
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

  6. Adorable!

    • Thanks so much for your reply! Many hours and much love goes into each sculpture!
      ~Gerry

  7. Wow! That guinea pig looks so realistic!


Leave a Reply

Categories

