Posted by: gourmetfelted | November 22, 2012

Your Needle Felting questions Answered~Felting curly fur

QUESTION:

I am trying to figure out how to add curls to the poodle I have needle felted. It’s an off white color replica of my brother’s dog (carefully following all your armature and core directions-it’s firm and ready for curls). I can’t find anywhere info on
1) what wool roving/locks to buy and
2) how to attach them without ruining the curls.
You do it beautifully. Could you give me a couple of tips and/or point me in the right direction so I can finish this project? Thanks very much in advance!

Caroline Otto in Utah

Hi Caroline!

Thank you for your question!

Curly wool is fun to use on felted aniamals.  I like to  use poodle curly fur for the fur on Poodle sculptures. When you felt on curls try to felt the areas in between the curls so they aren’t flattened.  I did the fur on this Poodle sculpure ALL with poodle fur. I didn’t mix it with anything else as I didn’t want to disturb the tiny curls in the fur. Just felt in a little at a time. This poodles fur was exceptionally fine so it was a little harder to felt in than wool but the results are worth it! Plus it adds a personal touch to a Pet Portrait!

If you run out of curls I have more here!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/GourmetFelted?section_id=5642801

Happy Felting!


Responses

  1. I have just recently started felting dogs. I did not see anywhere on your blog of where you get the noses? I have been felting them also but really like the look of yours. Thank you kindly.

  2. I have an order for a white tiger and I am having a hard time finding wool that is actually dyed white and not just a natural off white or creamy white. Do you know how I would be able to bleach my own wool? Or where to get wool that is snowy white? Thank you!

    • I have romney wool and alpaca fiber that is pretty white. I think Shetland wool maybe whiter than romney. I’m sure that you can find it on etsy. I have never bleached wool. Sorry that I couldn’t be more helpful!
      Happy felting!
      ~Gerry

  3. I had to put my mini-poodle of 15 years to sleep yesterday and cut all of her beautiful locks and was planning on trying to make a mini poodle in her likeness with the hair. So glad to know that it is possible to felt poodle fur!

    Would you kindly point me in the direction of the instructions that Caroline alluded to above??

    Thank you so much,
    Sue

    • Hi Sue,
      So sorry that you lost your precious poodle. That is always hard. I like to use poodle curly fur for the fur on Poodle sculptures. You would felt it into a coarse wool base. When you felt on curls try to felt the areas in between the curls so they aren’t flattened. I did the fur on this Poodle sculpure ALL with poodle fur. I didn’t mix it with anything else as I didn’t want to disturb the tiny curls in the fur. Just felt in a little at a time. Poodle fur is exceptionally fine so it was a little harder to felt in than wool but the results are worth it!
      Happy felting!
      ~Gerry


Leave a Reply

Categories

