Posted by: gourmetfelted | August 13, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED BLOG~ ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION ENTRY~THEN AND NOW~ACINDA~HORSE AND CHIHUAHUA

2009_04032008Christmas01632009_07302009eBay00122009_07302009eBay0025

HORSE~then~

My first sculpt was a little horse that I did in May, 2009. I learned what to do by looking at the information that you have on the web. Bought my wool and needles and here we go. My current sculpt I just completed of my dog Suger. I love felting and wish I had started years ago. It is relaxing and so rewarding. Love it!

CHIHUAHUA~NOW~


Responses

  1. TERRIFIC JOB ACINDA!! It’s hard to tell your feltie from your dog! Good thing you don’t own a Great Dane! Then you’d need more wool! Thank you for your entry!
    HAPPY FELTING!
    ~Gerry

  2. Wonderful feltie Acinda. I love the face of your chihuahua. I raise chi’s and you did a great job. I can’t imagine felting one that large, she is amazing.

  3. I must know how you made the chi and the horse. I just love horses and I am dying to make my chi a feltie.

  4. Hello!
    Welcome to my blog!
    When you make a felted sculpture as a replica of a living animal, pay close attention to the shapes of different sections of the body and carefully shape the wool to match. Study the actual shapes. When I first started needle felting, I thought that some areas looked a certain way, but the reality was different. It takes LOTS of patience to sculpt wool with just a needle but the results are worth it! A regular chihuahua is a good dog to start with as it isn’t long coated. If you have a live model of your dog, it is much easier as you can see the curves and lines right in front of you in 3D. Hope this helps!
    HAPPY FELTING!
    ~Gerry


Leave a Reply

Categories

