Posted by: gourmetfelted | August 13, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED BLOG~ ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION ENTRY~THEN AND NOW~DOGS~CHIPMUNK~BIRDS by LISA

DOGS~then~BIRDS~CHIPMUNK~now~

My duck came about by having yellow wool. Thats it. I had yellow and couldn’t figure out what to make. it was around Easter so I made a duck. I already did sculpting with polymer clay so I made the feet and bill out of clay.

The dog group was my very first attempts at needle felting. They were not very firm or very good. But I thought they were cute back then. Now I take a picture of the dog that I am doing and try to get as close as I can to that breed.

The goose is one of my newest ones. I loved doing it and learning how to mix the colors to get a realistic pattern on the wings.

The flamingo is also one of my newer ones. I had a lady email to ask me if I made them. So I tried. That is what I got. I love him, and so did she.

I have learned that you have to make them firm and mixing colors is hard but can be done. I love doing it because of the feel of the wool and the colors. It is a beautiful artform and you can make so many different things if you put your mind to it. I am a disabled person and sit a lot around the house. I needed an art form that I could do to make some extra money. I tried it and fell in love with the feels and colors and versatility of the wool. I love it and can’t stop. Been doing it for about a year and a half now.

chip7allflamingo2goose1YYellow1


Responses

  1. I love your duckling and “goose or adult duck”. Did you make the legs and feet from clay? The duckling is so expressive, great work.
    Linda

  2. Hi Lisa,
    Welcome to my blog! This is a lovely collection of felties! It’s nice that you do unusual animals. That adds to the fun! Your duckling is adorable! Great work! Thank you for your interesting entries!
    HAPPY FELTING!
    ~Gerry

  3. Oh my goodness! The duck and goose!! Adorable. Really makes me want to pick up a felting tool and a bunch of wool.

  4. Oh Come on Corinne, You can do it! What do you have to loose?


Leave a Reply

Categories

