Posted by: gourmetfelted | May 10, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED CONTEST ENTRY~DONKEY~by ALICE

ebaydonkey4

I decided to send the most unusual felted “critter” I’ve done, because all I seem to want to do is dogs…..  I’ve been needle felting for about three months now, and can’t imagine what I’ve been doing all these years without it.  I’ve always been very crafty, but with needle working or sewing.  With needle felting, you actually seem to create something with a little soul.  I get attached to my felties as I make them and I want to own one of every dog I do.  The little donkey I’ve entered into your contest I sold on ebay and the lady I sold him to named him Sagebrush and sent a photo of him in her home.  She said her day hadn’t been so good and then the little donkey came and it made her day better.  That’s all it takes for me — I’m hooked!  To be able to make someone feel a little bit better with one of my felties doesn’t just make my day, it makes my life!🙂
The donkey is made of alpaca fiber over a wire armature and core wool.  I made him because of a request from a buyer for one.  My mom has one living across the road from me, so she (the donkey) influenced me greatly.  He’s about 5″ long — not very big.
Thanks again for all the help and fun you provide to felters.
Alice

Responses

  1. YaaY for Alice!

    I love how she included the cross on the burro’s back. It’s a great detail and one of my favorite things about burros. I love seeing all the creations here, so thanks again to Gerry for making this blog and inviting everyone to share.

  2. Sagebrush is the perfect name for this happy fellow! And 5 inches is a big size for needle felting. That’s about 80 square inches of felting!

  3. To Erin, Your welcome! Glad to help!

  4. HI Alice,
    Welcome to my blog! Thank you so much for your little donkey entry. He is really adorable! I’m so glad to help fellow felters! Feel free to ask any questions that you may have and maybe I can help🙂
    HAPPY FELTING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

