Posted by: gourmetfelted | March 19, 2009

NEEDLE FELTING DIRECTIONS~YOUR QUESTIONS ANSWERED~ASK HERE

ragdoll-015

  1. QUESTION~
    How do you decide what size your wire armature should be, obviously it should smaller than the finished dog but by how much? Also how much wire should be allowed for the neck?
    You make it look so easy on your ‘Tip of the week-Armature’
  2. Hi Dawn,
    That is a great question! I put a photo of the dog that I want to make on my computer screen that is the size that I’m making. Then I hold the wire up and make it inside of the image. Be careful not to touch the computer screen, especially with the wire.

    The back wire is about where the spine is on the real dog. Then you make a loop for the head and hold it up near the photo to see where to wrap it onto the legs. You can tell how long the neck is by matching the loop of the wire to the top of the head.

    I ALWAYS felt the head last or it could end up too large or too small. I also leave a little extra wire on the legs until I have the body felted, just in case I need longer legs. It is much easier to cut off extra wire than to add wool length when there is no wire left. This can be done, but there will be no posing to that added on piece.

    I hope that you are following me on this. It is a trial and error thing. It doesn’t always come out perfectly believe me! LOL!

    I hope this answered your questions. Please feel free to ask anytime!
    HAPPY FELTING!


Responses

  1. You read my mind! I was just at this point and was wondering the same thing. Great timing. Thanks!

  2. […] /// Origin Team /// placed an observative post today on NEEDLE FELTING DIRECTIONS~YOUR QUESTIONS ANSWERED~ASK HEREHere’s a quick excerptQUESTION~ How do you decide what size your wire armature should be, obviously it should smaller than the finished dog but by how much? […]

  3. Many thanks for your response on ‘what size your wire armature should be’ It was a great help.

  4. Hi Dawn, Thanks for the thank you. It does seem like many times our critters grow when we are felting them. Not usually a problem unless you are making something for a particular scale like I am now. Be sure to double check against the photo once in a while to make sure that one area isn’t getting too large! HAPPY FELTING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

