Posted by: gourmetfelted | November 27, 2008

AUTUMN NEEDLE FELTING CONTEST~YOU VOTE FOR THE WINNER!!

I’VE DECIDED TO DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND HAVE AN OPEN VOTE FOR THE WINNER! YOU CHOOSE! LEAVE A COMMENT WITH YOUR VOTE AND THE REASON WHY YOU CHOSE A CERTAIN FELTIE TODAY! GET YOUR FRIENDS TO VOTE FOR YOU TOO! FREE WOOL OF YOUR CHOICE TO THE WINNER!!

stryker185234025103014004realburner120081021_img_01511bichon-frise006-21

bunny-contest1dsc003801loki-32mylou-0201october-2008-0941

owl-12posy-262

WELL HERE IS THE LINE UP! I CAN’T DECIDE, SO I’M LEAVING IT UP TO YOU!!

CLICK ON A PICTURE FOR A CLOSER VIEW OR SCROLL DOWN THE LIST TO SEE CLOSE-UPS AND MORE PICTURES OF EACH ENTRY.

THINGS THAT I LOOK FOR WHEN I PICK A WINNER:

IMAGINATION

EVOKES A RESPONSE

PERSISTENCE

UNIQUENESS

FUR QUALITY

EXPRESSION

CUTENESS

BEAUTY

YOU CAN USE YOUR OWN QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE WINNER!!

HAVE FUN! IT’S IN YOUR HANDS!!


Responses

  1. Wow…I am not really qualified to judge these wonderful entries, being such a newbie… I was just wanting to wish y’all a Safe & Happy Thanksgiving…. Gerry, I don’t know how you do it… especially without having “hands on”…..
    No wonder you tossed it into our court….
    Each one is a winner for participating & each has qualities that make them special… but my eye keeps going back to the 1 1/4″ kitten by Amber…I am amazed at the detail she has achieved in such a tiny sculpture…the proportions are nice, the shape of the head, the body position…and cleverly encased in a walnut shell…It’s so cute….& what really amazes me is that I can not see a single nick on her hand in that picture!!!! This was tough being a dog person….my runner up is Dee’s Deerhound & pugs….I’d love to try that painting technique…. but my choice is…………………
    *******AMBER’s 1 1/4” KITTEN….. *******

  2. Everyone….Have a Safe & Happy Thanksgiving!
    Thank you, Gerry, for this wonderful forum & for sharing your time & talent! I am learning from all of you….Thank you for participating & sharing your tips & talents & creations!

  3. Thanks so much Lynne! I’m so happy to have people like you visit and participate! I thought it would be fun to get everyone involved with picking a winner! It’s true that everyone is a winner in their own way. I’m so glad to help people and it warms my heart that some people even started felting just from seeing my dogs! I wish for everyone to find the “Joy of Felting!”

  4. Hi All,
    All of the entries are wonderful,i’ve studied them all and think it’s hard to choose just one.Being a dog person i’m drawn to the dogs but i have to admit I do like the owl tote bag,a unique piece of felted art that can create a talking point and show those unfamiliar with felting just how versatile sheep fleece can be.I have to pay special mention to the beautiful Aussie Cattle dog ,the picture is stunning,he looks so real.
    My ultimate winner is ****(fanfare of trumpets)******** Owl Tote Bag by Corina
    Dee

  5. Ok, we have two votes so far and they are both for really great projects. Thanks for your votes!

  6. WOW This is a tough choice, I can see why you’d want help in making it Gerry. There are so Many Wonderful Felted creations on here. I love them all, really! I was torn But I have to go with the Owl tote bag by Corina too, I know how much work must have gone into it and it really is goregous and unique, very inspiring.
    :o)
    Amber

  7. They are all so cute and well done it’s hard to pick. But I loved it when I first saw it and still do. I have to say that tiny little kitty cat.

    Janet

  8. I mast say I am deeply impressed by all of these wonderful creations. Every single entrant has shown much creativity in this art of felting!

    Having to narrow the choice to one, I am going to cast my personal vote for the owl bag. I love the fact that it is using more than one method of felting. The colors are perfect for setting off the natural beauty of the owl. The artist chose a subject that is close to home and heart. The item catches one’s eye and draws to mind the beauty and nature of this magnificent bird. Being a tote bag adds to the usefulness of this particular item as well.

    My thanks to all who have shared their talents with us and to Gerry for giving us a venue in which to share! Best of luck to all!

  9. Thanks so much for your votes! It is quite hard to pick and there are so many wonderful entries! The white tiger with all the stripes must have been an incredible amount of work and the stripes are thick and thin just like a real tiger. Amazing!

  10. Happy Thanksgiving to all!! I have terrible news. . . Our rabbit (my darling source of bunny inspiration) was found dead yesterday. . . We’ve had him a good long time and he had a wonderful life. He was such a sweet and personable bunny!!! I’m going to miss him so. And after looking at all of the entries, how could ANYONE choose? I guess if someone had a gun to my head and I just HAD to choose, I’d go for the kitty with the pink blanket. I think I just heard it purr!

  11. Hi Lori,
    I am so sorry that your bunny died. Was he very old? It is so hard when pets die as they have such short lives compared to most of us…Do you have other bunnies?
    That is an amazing cat and I think that it’s her 3rd or 4th sculpture!!! Can you imagine! That would be so much work to felt anything that large!

  12. Its so difficult to choose. They are all so wonderful. However, I think I have to go for the cat with the pink blanket also. She, being fairly new at needle felting, should be applauded for this amazing piece.

  13. Aww, Lori, I am so very sorry about your loss. Bunnies make such wonderful pets that it is easy to see how quickly they become more than that and become full fledged members of one’s family. My heart feels for you and your family at this sad time.

  14. Hello Gerry and Everyone
    WOW! this is a very hard choice to make all the entries are sooo Nicely done in my eyes everyone is a winner but since I can only choose one I must say that I really love Karen little aussie he is sooo Adorable

  15. Hello Lori
    I am SOOO Sorry to hear that you lost your little bunny we get so attach to our little fur babies my heart goes out to you and your family

  16. Thanks to Gerry and Ginette for your kind words. He was six years old, but I don’t know what that is in bunny years. He was my only rabbit; I just have my three cats now and they miss him too as they all played and romped together. Sigh. . . It just hurt to see how it upset my eldest son. He took it hard, but he’s learning life’s lessons, like we all must.

  17. Oh, and thanks to cka too! If I missed anyone, I’m sorry!!!!!!

  18. Hello dear fellow needle-felters. Thanks for the people who voted for my owl tote! I love everything on this page, but the one that makes my heart skip is the wolfhound in front of the fireplace. It is soooo amazing!!!

  19. This is not a vote…though I could vote for each & every one….. I just had to try the painting technique that Dee & Corina did so beautifully in their felting project…. How do y’all do it?!!! I just tried to do a silhouette…..and it wasn’t easy….The wool kept moving on me….I’d get it perfect & I guess I didn’t needle it down enough & it would crawl back…. Mine is small….Corina, just the size of your… & the shading & line work is amazing & you knitted the tote…(not going to try that…at least right now :)….and Dee the dimension & texture in yours is so real…Don’t know how you do it….but I do want to learn…. Kudos to you both…. There’s nothing like a little knowledge by attempting the process to get a better appreciation of the art work…..

  20. Lori… I am so sorry for your loss…. May he live on in your heart & your beautiful felties…

  21. Maybe not meant as a vote as I’m visiting today for the first time, but I immediately fell in love with the owl tote! I love owls and I love felt!Too bad I’m not that creative in combining techniques.
    Go figure… I ‘ve seen all these techniques separately before, but saw a picture needlefelted on a felted bag yesterday on Ravelry and only then discovered you can make a felt picture on a felted bag…

    To Lori: I’m sorry for your loss… Pets have such a special place in our lives!

  22. Let’s see what is the count, so far….
    3 for the owl tote
    2 for the cat with the pink blanket
    2 for the tiny kitten
    1 for the Wolfhound
    1 for the Aussie
    Is that correct? Are you going to vote, Gerry….or to break a tie, should that happen?

  23. I would vote to break a tie but the tie isn’t for first place. The owl has it!

  24. Your right…..when I refreshed the page I didn’t see Pauline’s vote…. Is the voting over?

  25. Yes I emailed people twice that participated in the contest to see if they wanted to vote and didn’t hear anything. SO onward to new things!!

  26. Hi Pauline, Welcome to my blog! You can make a owl felted if you have the desire to learn. Everything that you need is here on my blog to help new people learn needle felting! See the list of posts below and you can see learn needle felting, tip of the week, getting started needle felting. etc. If you can stick wool with a needle, you can learn!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

