Posted by: gourmetfelted | September 12, 2008

AUTUMN NEEDLE FELTED CONTEST ENTRY~MOUSE by Carol

Okay, here’s my first ever felting project. It did stay a mouse after all! I’ve had way too much fun not just felting but finding fun spots for a mouse to go, silly I know, but fun just the same! This can be an entry for the first felting project contest.

I don’t have the greatest camera, and so the definition of the thighs on my little mouse don’t really show up all that well. Also, I could not find proper eyes and so simply felted those on the face. He also has little pink paw pads but they didn’t show well either…The dog is my female cairn, Maisie. She’s my huntress who enjoys hunting real mice in our backyard!

Thanks for all the ideas, encouragement and getting others to share. I love seeing what everyone is doing, so much talent!

cka


Responses

  1. Hehe, That dog is just waiting for that mouse to inch towards him. Very nice little mouse, Carol. Happy felting!

  2. Cute little mousie! Did you poke your finger a bunch of times while felting the tale? I sure did! Those small thin parts are very challenging to me.
    Enid

  3. I know what you mean about the tiny pieces and fingers! OUCH! I use leather thimbles when I do thin things. You can felt to your heart’s content and NEVER get stuck!

  4. Yes, I surly did poke myself particularly on the tail. I had read in the tips about leather thimbles and small parts — I wish I had some! They will go on my “Must Order Soon” list for felting supplies (or can you just get them in sewing supplies? Hmm, must look and see!)

    That’s one of the things I love about this site, you start to learn just what equipment you really need, what you actually do with it, and whether it is a must-get-soon, or gee-someday-I’d-like-to-try-one-of-those items. I don’t know about others but I can feel dismayed looking at a site and seeing all this stuff for sale and wondering if it’s really important to the art or just something that would be nice to have…and just what are you to do with it anyway? G is here to answer all that! Thanks!

  5. PLEASE READ MY TIP OF THE WEEK”GETTING STARTED” TO SEE WHAT YOU REALLY NEED TO START NEEDLE FELTING. GO DOWN TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE AND CLICK ON “TIP OF THE WEEK” AND YOU CAN READ MY POST.

  6. Your tips are exactly what I meant by loving this site. I had looked at others and saw all the items or found them for sale, but it is the posts you make like explaining the necessities in “Getting Started” that make you stand out. It’s not just a list, but an explanation of what and why that helps.

  7. Oh! toooo precious! You did a great job! I, too, know what you mean about felting small. My fingers got felted a good bit today when trying to apply stripes to my kitties tail! OUCH! I have to tell you I love the picture with your dog. I can picture the mouse looking out from a whole in the baseboard and the dog with his hiney in the air and front feet and head to the ground wanting to play! Too cute! Cindy~


Leave a Reply

Categories

