Posted by: gourmetfelted | March 14, 2012

Your Needle Felting Questions answered by Gourmet Felted

QUESTION:

Kim asks: “I’m just starting with Needle Felting and my sister has asked me to make a Snowy Owl…I just don’t know how I’m going to do the little talons. Your posts are very helpful!

ANSWER:

Hi Kim,
Welcome to my blog. Thank you for your kind words. Several ways come to my mind for talons. You could make them out of polyclay like sculpy or fimo. That is how I made the beak and nostrils on my parakeet. I have also seen them made from wire wrapped with embroidery thread. People have also used beeswax for talons. I would use thread wrapped wire myself as I did for the parakeet. Thanks for your question!
Happy Felting!
~Gerry

 

QUESTION:

I am making a set of angry birds and want to add feet. I like your suggestions above. Could you tell us the best way to attach wire feet wrapped in thread? I have the same question for the polymer clay option. Thanks in advance. I love your fabulous creations and your excellent and informative blog!

ANSWER:

HI Caroline!

Welcome! Thanks for your comment on my bird feet post. When you make the feet and legs you need about 1/4 to 1/2 extra leg wire UNwrapped at the top to stick into the body. I would take a coarse felting needle like a #36 and felt a deep hole where each leg goes in. Place the legs in the hole and see if you have the placement right. Then remove the legs, add glue in the hole or on the wire ends and put the leg back into the hole. I would use hot glue or krazy glue/super glue for fast drying. Then add a little wool and wrap at the top of the leg to make the bird ” thigh”ie drumstick! lol!

The poly clay was for the talons/claws. You could mold them on the wire tips and shape them into claws. Then just cook them on the wire feet as directed. Then wrap the thread on the toes.

I added claws to bears as an after thought and shaped and cooked the claws first. Then I had to needle felt a hole where each claw went in. Then I had to glue them in at the right angle and depth. I then added a little fur at the base of each claw. That whole process took me TWO hours. Definitely a labor of love!!LOL!

Happy Felting!
~Gerry

 

Responses

  1. I am making a set of angry birds and want to add feet. I like your suggestions above. Could you tell us the best way to attach wire feet wrapped in thread? I have the same question for the polymer clay option. Thanks in advance. I love your fabulous creations and your excellent and informative blog!

    Caroline

  2. HI Caroline!

    Welcome! Thanks for your comment on my bird feet post. When you make the feet and legs you need about 1/4 to 1/2 extra leg wire UNwrapped at the top to stick into the body. I would take a coarse felting needle like a #36 and felt a deep hole where each leg goes in. Place the legs in the hole and see if you have the placement right. Then remove the legs, add glue in the hole or on the wire ends and put the leg back into the hole. I would use hot glue or krazy glue/super glue for fast drying. Then add a little wool and wrap at the top of the leg to make the bird ” thigh”ie drumstick! lol!

    The poly clay was for the talons/claws. You could mold them on the wire tips and shape them into claws. Then just cook them on the wire feet as directed. Then wrap the thread on the toes.

    I added claws to bears as an after thought and shaped and cooked the claws first. Then I had to needle felt a hole where each claw went in. Then I had to glue them in at the right angle and depth. I then added a little fur at the base of each claw. That whole process took me TWO hours. Definitely a labor of love!!LOL!

    Happy Felting!
    ~Gerry

  3. Hi Gerry!

    Love all the sculptures you have done, they are really awsome! And thanks for all the tips and advice you share.

    I have little troubles with dog noses (and a bit with the eyes too), I hope to have ideas what to do.

    Below is one example of my work. I have needle felted the nose, because I can´t find small enough noses from Finland, or from the web. This dog is about 10 cm tall, so the noses can´t be too large or it will spoil the whole dog.

    [img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/408448_2834912511532_1220761984_32241144_2015627498_n.jpg[/img]

    What do you think? What should I do?

    Thanks in advance!
    Johanna from Finland

    • Hi Johanna,
      Welcome to my blog! Thank you for your kind words! There’s nothing wrong with needle felted noses. You can make them just the right size and color. I thought that yours looked fine. You could apply a little melted beeswax if you want to change the texture a little. I also made a tutorial on making noses out of clay. Just click the link below the comments in CATEGORIES that show my past posts. It is called MAKING NOSES TUTORIAL. It is in the middle list about halfway down :)
      Happy felting!
      ~Gerry

  4. Oh, you are so awesome. Thank you very, very much, Gerry. I’ll do exactly what you said! :)

    Caroline

  5. I’m in love with the scarves with the head of the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. Do you sell any of your patterns?

    • Hi Kandace,
      Thank you so much for your kind words on my knitted dog scarf. I don’t have a pattern for that…I just free-formed it! I made the head first and shaped as I went. Sorry, no pattern. Thanks for asking though! Have a lovely day.
      ~Gerry


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

