Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 30, 2012

My FIRST Needle Felted Cat~Baby Steps…You have to start Somewhere by Gerry of Gourmet Felted

Here is my FIRST Needle Felted cat! She is supposed to be a Persian Kitten! Well, I tried!! You have to start somewhere right? I have people who get discouraged because they can’t make the type sculpture that they want with their first few tries. I have been needle felting for over 3 years, and  I still struggle with cats ! I am allergic so haven’t been around them much. Because of this. I’m not as familiar with a cat’s anatomy. I have had to study and sketch cats to understand their make up.

This is a good way for everyone to start. Whenever you make a sculpture, try to improve one area as you work. Then when you make your next sculpture you will be able to have that spot looking good. Do this little by little and you will see your advancement! Here is a black and white Tuxedo cat that I made recently. I do still struggle and take much more time on cat sculptures compared to dog sculptures.  But I do try to improve an area as much as I can.

Don’t get discouraged! Keep on felting!

Responses

  1. Boy what a difference! OK…. I’ll keep trying! :c)

  2. Keep on felting! You learn with every sculpture so your next one will be better! Happy Felting!
    ~Gerry

  3. Gerry your first one looks similar to my first feltie which was a white cat .
    Your advice is so true , Love your recent Kitty he is beautiful as is your very first one
    Mary

  4. Hi Mary,
    You are so sweet! Thank you for your kind words! I love your little felties too!
    You make the smallest cuties!
    ~Gerry

  5. Your creatures are beautiful. I have only recently heard of this craft and I am quite intrigued!! Do you know of any kits that make dogs? I really want to make a Shih tzu for my friend as her companion recently passed away. I just love the way they turn out.
    Thank you in advance for any help.
    Michelle L Thomison

    • Hi Michelle!
      Welcome to my blog! Needle felting is BIG these days! I do make custom kits for any dog breed. You can contact me at http://www.gourmetfelted.etsy.com for further details! Thanks for your comment!
      ~Gerry

  6. Hi do you have any bride and groom squirrels to sell?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

