Posted by: gourmetfelted | October 21, 2011

Needle Felted PARAKEET by Gerry of Gourmet Felted

  I just finished a Needle Felted Parakeet! Fun to sculpt something that wasn’t a cat or a dog! Tricky to get wool to look like feathers! This is a sky blue and white pied parakeet. I sculpted the beak and made the feet and legs which took two hours just for those.

I just added a

Follow Blog via Email

Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Scroll down on the right side, Type your email in the box and click FOLLOW.  What could be easier? You will receive an email whenever I post anything. I have contests and give-aways like free wool or felting needles so sign up and you’ll be the first to know! Thanks for following my blog!!

~Gerry

Responses

  1. Absoultly beautiful

    • Thank you Linda for your comment! My Grandmother always had parakeets and I met my hubby because of them, so they always will be special to me. We used to have over 50 and take them to bird shows. We even won some ribbons. This is an English parakeet or Budgie.
      ~Gerry

  2. What a lovely bird is this Gerry. Did you felt the legs and feet around a wire or dit you use cotton or something else. Ive tried doing birds feet but cant get them right.

  3. Hi Marion,
    Thanks Marion! I made the feet by bending one long wire. Then I glued the wool on by wrapping. I used slow drying glue like “OK to Wash It” so I had time to play with the toes before it dried!!LOL!
    Happy Felting!
    ~Gerry

  4. I’m just starting with needle felting and my sister has asked me to make a Snowy Owl… I just don’t know how I’m going to to do the little talons. Your posts are very helpful :)

    • Hi Kim,
      Welcome to my blog. Thank you for your kind words. Several ways come to my mind for talons. You could make them out of polyclay like sculpy or fimo. That is how I made the beak and nostrils on my parakeet. I have also seen them made from wire wrapped with embroidery thread. People have also used beeswax for talons. I would use thread wrapped wire myself as I did for the parakeet. Thanks for your question!
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

      • Thank you, Gerry. I thoroughly enjoyed looking at your wonderful work and glancing through the tips!! Great blog for a newbie like me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

