Posted by: gourmetfelted | October 7, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED DOG-ADDING GLASS EYES-NO GLUE!-NEEDLE FELTING TUTORIAL

samoyed pin 003 Many people have told me that they have problems using GLUE to attach eyes to their Needle Felted Sculptures.  I decided to try looped wire glass eyes sewn in for a change.

When I make a sculpture, I always mark the eye location with 2 straight pins that have a black ball on the end. I can make sure that they are in alignment BEFORE I permanently attach them.

STEP ONE:  You need to make a socket (hole) to put the eye into so they aren’t just on the surface of the wool. This adds a lot to the realism of your sculpture.

Thread the eye through the wire loop with a needle and strong thread.

samoyed pin 002STEP TWO: You will also need to make a slit in the wool for the wire loop. I use an exacto blade for this. You can also make the hole a little larger with the blade if you need to. Or you can needle felt a hole where your marker pin was and then just make a slit for the loop.

samoyed pin 001STEP THREE: Put the sewing needle in the socket and pull it through. The eye will be in the hole and push it in so the loop is in the slit that you cut in the wool. Tie off in back of head and make a knot. Add a little wool to cover your knot and felt it to hide the knot. That’s all there is to it!!

I usually use 4mm glass eyes and I get them from

http://www.glasseyesonline.com/

Please tell him that Gerry sent you! Thanks! If you have any questions, please ask in a comment and I’ll try to answer you asap!

HAPPY FELTING!

Responses

  1. Interested in a special request purchase! Was wondering size and rates! Please e-mail me when you have a chance :)

    Kind Regards,
    Carolina

  2. Hi Carolina,
    Welcome to my blog!
    You can see my rates and about 100 examples of my dogs in my shop.
    http://www.gfelted.etsy.com
    Thank you for your interest in my sculptures! Have a lovely day!
    ~Gerry

  3. This was a timely read for me as I just purchased some of the wire loop eyes. I read about making a knot, and wondered if the knot would show. It hadn’t occurred to me that it could be covered up with a bit of wool felted over the knot! Duh me! Thx!

    • That’s so true! It is only wool after all. You can even cut part of a leg off that’s too long. I have even cut a head off before and made a new one! Wool is very flexible!

  4. Thank you for your help. I think I will get some eyes from Jerry with the wire loops. I ordered 3mm eyes and I think they are too small…they are the kind with eyes on ea. end of a long wire. Frankly, I am envisioning a crazy cat using those eyes for whiskers! I will reorder some 4mm on loops and see where that gets me. Thanks again. Vilma

  5. I’d like to order some eyes so I can practice making dogs, but I’m not sure what the best color is? What color eyes do you use the most with dogs.. amber?

    • Hi Deborah,
      Welcome to my blog! I usually use 4 mm black glass eyes. Second is amber or dark brown. I have also colored clear eyes myself. Please feel free to ask any questions! I’m glad to help! Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

