Posted by: gourmetfelted | August 14, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED BLOG~ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION~MOUSE & SQUONK by AMANDA

haller_amanda_thenhaller_amanda_nowHello Gerry! This is my entry into your celebration post on your blog. I was very excited to enter, especially because I was just beginning my needle felting this time last year! It is amazing to look back and see and reflect upon all that I have learned. This was fun. I hope you like my photos! :D

THEN:
This little mouse was the first thing I tried to felt, about a year ago. I remember being afraid to use too much wool on the first try, so I worked really slowly and made all my work small!

NOW:
My latest feltie is the first of a continuing series I am making, of creatures based on the tales of North American lumberjacks. Some of them are so unique and interesting, and I love making my own interpretation of what these creatures look like! This one is called a Squonk; He is a tragic creature, who hides and cries all the time because he knows he is the most hideous creature in the forest(but I think he’s cute).

WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNED ABOUT NEEDLE FELTING IN THE PAST YEAR OR WHY DO YOU LIKE NEEDLE FELTING?
One year (and about 1000 finger-pricks) later, I feel like I have learned a lot about the process and joys of needlefelting. I like it a lot because I have never been very good at sculpting with clay or stone, but wool is different. Something about wool is more endearing and fun, and the way that that my ideas end up looking is wonderfully unique. I have learned a lot about the technique of felting over this past year, but I find that I have learned even more through people that I meet with felting. I am a part of online artisan-clubs because of my work, I have met many new friends at school sales(felting is a great conversation-starter!), and I feel as though there is a whole community of crafters to encourage and inspire young needle-felters! This is my favourite part.

Responses

  1. Hi Amanda, Welcome to my blog! A squonk? That’s a new one! Very imaginative! Your first feltie was incredibly small! I would poke myself if I made that!! Thanks for your entry!!HAPPY FELTING!
    ~Gerry

  2. Gerry! Thank you so much for your kind comment! My first felting set (the only one you can get in my city, thankfully I buy online now), came with a piece of foam that was only about 2 x 2 inches! That is probably another reason I made that mouse so tiny :P.

    Thanks again for posting my entry up! I have so much fun felting, and it was really nice to go back and see the difference in my own work this past year.

  3. 2inches by 2 inches!!YIKES! You poor thing! You must have poked your fingers so much!

  4. Love the Squonk, you have the best imagination!! It is so cute and lots of detail too. Great job!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

