Posted by: gourmetfelted | March 28, 2009

MY NEEDLE FELTED DOG~YORKIE IN ETSY TREASURY~SCAMP by GERRY

treasury-yorkie-feb-2-20091

This is SCAMP. He was my favorite needle felted Yorkshire Terrier that I created and he made it into an Etsy Treasury!! It is an honor that I would be picked out of thousands of sellers selling thousands of items. This is an interesting Treasury as it is a very varied collections of favorites. Here is a closer photo of SCAMP.

More photos in my Etsy store. Please see

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=19264287

yorkie-custom

Responses

  1. Oh my…he is so precious. I am amazed. You are truly gifted :)

  2. They are so cute. I have thought of doing our dogs, but they are never still for me to take a picture. They are farm dogs. (1 Australian cattle dog, and 4 Boarder Collies)
    Lirael wanted to tell you she received your package and she loves the needle. It fits her hand like a glove. Can you buy more?
    She is waiting excited to show you her newest needle felting creation, as it is almost finished. She has taken to reading you site daily to see if there is anything new and to get tips. Thank you for inspiring my little widget to higher things.
    I will post her creation in the next day or 2. We had a 2 week march break, and we went to Chile. We were both amazed at the felt. We learned a lot about wet felting and also lamas. Lirael is now determined to turn our 40 acre farm into an alpaca instead of a hobby farm. Do you have your own or just know someone. If so how hard is it compared to sheep. As we have 300 sheep.
    Later Jos

  3. wow…300 sheep?? that doesn’t sound like a hobby farm to me !!! how cool !!! I am so out of my element here but I admire this art form sooo much that I am completely fascinated by it all :) Janet

  4. Hi Janet,
    Thank you so much for your kind words on my favorite yorkie! After working on a dog for so many hours, and holding it in your hands, and making it come alive, it is so hard many times to sell them! If you scroll down the page you will see the most adorable chow chow with a blue tongue. I wish that I had kept her for sure! She was another one of my favorites!

  5. Hi Jocelyn,
    Thanks for your kind words on my pup! I was just thinking of the two of you a couple of days ago.
    I have a felted cattle dog and border collie that I did in my Etsy store. Did you see them?

    I was wondering if Lirael liked the little needle and the fiber. They are custom made by a lady on Etsy. She has two included in her silk kits. She will make a silk kit with animal colors if you like. Just ask her and please tell her Gerry sent you.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=22698005

    Can’t wait to see Lirael’s new project! I have been having health problems so I haven’t been able to blog much til now. Does she have any questions? I’d love to help! I’m so glad that she is inspired by my blog. Thank you sooooo much for telling me!

    It must have been fun to go to Chile. The first fiber that I bought was from an alpaca farm. I came home with a giant trash bag filled with all sorts of fiber! She has a few sheep also as she spins and has mohair goats. I got a little of everything. My favorite fiber is alpaca and the animals are so gentle. She had a little hand raised cria that would come to you and sit in your lap! The baby coat is like a halo of white. It was so soft that you could barely feel it!
    Do you have any pictures of the felt that you saw there?

  6. How wonderful this is! As a mom to a 4 pound Yorkie, I can say that you captured the Yorkie spirit! You REALLY made it come alive. As a person who does some needle felting, I think this Yorkie is so well done in so many ways.

    I just found your blog and will return many times. You are so generous with your knowledge and there is so much to see. Your work in beautiful–and an inspiration. Thanks so much for the great tips and tutorials here!

    • Hi Helen, Welcome to my blog! Thank you for your kind words! I love making yorkies. When I started needle felting there wasn’t much around, so I thought that I could make a blog to help people learn about felting. Please feel free to ask any questions that you may have. HAPPY FELTING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

