Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 30, 2009

NEEDLE FELTING CONTEST ENTRY~DRAGON~by KRISTEN

imgp0722

Hi- I have been needle felting for a couple months now and I am in love with it. I would like to enter your contest. This dragon is the third project I made, it is mohair on a Shetland wool base. The arms and legs are sewn on, teddy bear style, and are movable. I have learned that mohair, while beautifully soft and shiny, is really hard to felt tight.
I raise sheep and have always wanted to have something to do with the wool- I am not a spinner or a knitter but now I can felt! I have not used wool from my own sheep yet but I am really looking forward to it. Thanks for your informative and fun blog, it’s great to see other folks’ projects. A contest is a great way to get people to show off!
imgp0714imgp0715
Responses

  1. What a fun piece! This is so terrific! I love the colors and the fire is a perfect touch! That’s great that the arms and legs move also. Lovely setting for a dragon! Isn’t felting fun!

  2. Love it! The flame is a nice touch.

  3. Mohair is much harder to felt then wool is. The shaft of a mohair fiber is smoother than wool. When we needle felt, the little hooks on the wool fibers get pressed together with the pressure of the needle, and stay tangled because of these little hooks. Mohair is so much smoother, there is much less to keep it together. Mohair does however wet felt much easier than dry felting. You find this out if you’ve ever washed mohair too vigorously. OH NO!

  4. what a sweet little fellow! the flame just made me laugh :)

  5. Thank you for such nice comments! Good to know about mohair and wet felting- another thing I will have to try!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

