Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 28, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED CONTEST ENTRY~DINOSAURS~by LESLEY~JUST STARTED!

woolly_mammoth

I’ve attached a few pictures of my contest entries – some needle felted dinosaurs. I’m brand new to needle felting. I’ve been felting for about a week, and these are the third, fourth and fifth creations that I’ve ever made. I was so excited when the stegosaurus’ plates tucked right in with the felting needle – it’s so addictive!

So far there’s a brontosaurus, a stegosaurus, and a woolly mammoth. I’m not sure what got me started with dinosaurs, but I’ve always loved them and I realized that a lot of people sculpt mystical creatures out of felt – gnomes, mermaids, faeries, etc. I think dinosaurs inspire a similar fascination.

Each dino is between 5-7″ from head to tail, made with wire armatures coated with undyed wool, then with colorful roving. The stegosaurus’ plates and the mammoth’s tusks are made from a sheet of cream colored felt.

Thank you for considering my entry and I look forward to learning more about needle felting!

Best Wishes,

Lesley

dinosaurs1stegosaurus

Responses

  1. These are so neat! I love dinosaurs too! Your woolly mammoth is great! This just goes to show that even newbies can do great things with wool. Wonderful job! Thanks for your entry. HAPPY FELTING!!

  2. Thank you so much, Gerry! It’s so inspiring to see everyone’s creations and I was so blown away by your dogs.

    Looking forward to keeping up with your blog and learning more as time goes by!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words about my dogs! Your cute dinosaurs are an inspiration!

  3. LOVE these!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

