Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 27, 2009

NEEDLE FELTING CONTEST ENTRY~WOODPECKER~by CARINE

Here is my submission for the needle felting contest.  I would definitely consider myself a beginner.  I took a needle felting class at Stitches East in Nov. and have made a few felted birds since then.  This was my third project, a pileated woodpecker ornament.  Until I came across your blog I didn’t know anything about using an armature, so except for his pipe cleaner feet, he is just a hunk of wool.  I also didn’t know about using polymer clay to make beaks, so his beak is felted too.  I sure wish I had found you sooner.  What a great resource!  I’m not sure what I will make next… now that I know about making a frame, maybe I’ll try a goat!
Thanks!
Carine
woodpecker
Responses

  1. Hi Carine,
    Thank you for your entry! This is very lovely. I just wanted to say that needle felted sculptures can be made without armatures. Pure wool is fine for a sculpture. An armature is useful for posing. The felted beak is great. Some people always use just wool for needle felting…even for the eyes. Your sculpture is not just a hunk of wool, but a wonderful creation. You should be proud of it! HAPPY FELTING!

  2. What is the size of this bird?

  3. Thanks for the encouragement. I am quite fond of him (I call him “Pilly”). He’s approximately 8 inches from the top of his crest to the tip of his tail (+/- half the size of the real bird)–too big to hang on my tree, unfortunately. I didn’t intend for him to be so big, but as I was working on him he needed a little bit here and a little bit there, and before I knew it he was huge!

  4. I love this! The felted beak is great- better than polymer. A very handsome pileated.

  5. WOW! I am speechless over this one. I am amazed at the detail and perfect felting..and I adore birds so all of the elements are there for me. I am in awe that this is only the 3rd felted project this poster has created! Obviously a natural talent!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

