Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 26, 2009

NEEDLE FELTED CONTEST ENTRY~HAMSTER~by JUNE~”CINNAMON”~FIRST SCULPTURE!

minicinnamon31

Hi Gerry,
This guinea pig is my first attempt at needlefelting. It’s modelminicinnamon2ed on my old pet guinea pig, Cinnamon, and scaled down to fit into the palm of my hand. I used 4 colours of sheep’s wool roving.
It took me many hours to make my mini-pig. I really made up my technique as I was working, e.g. I didn’t find out that I should make a solid core shape and then felt patches of colour over the top until later – after finding your site, Gerry, I’ll know to do that for my next piece!
I needlefelted in tiny black wool patches for the eyes, and then sewed round black onyx beads over the top to give them that realistic glint. I also used two strands of embroidery floss to stitch on a tiny nose and mouth.
Thanks!
June

minicinnamon

Responses

  1. This is a great job for a first sculpture! You can develop your own technique. I only share here what I do. There are other ways to make sculptures.

    I like using a core, as the core wool is usually cheaper and I can use the more expensive fibers as the topcoat. Also with the long coated animals, you need something firm enough to felt into and hold the fiber in.

    The way that you did it is fine too! Thanks for your entry. It is nice to see first sculptures and they help others to see that even when someone starts felting, they can make something adorable!
    HAPPY FELTING!

  2. He is so cute, I should make one for the Widgets B-day.
    You did a wonderful job.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

