Posted by: gourmetfelted | January 16, 2009

NEEDLE FELTING CONTEST ENTRY~ROSE & KOI~by LINDA

I did the rose on the clover brush felting matt and I use the clover multiple needle tool and crisscross the roving in a few tones of red, petal by petal around a wire flower stem and then began layering the petals and a similar process for the leaves.  I cover the stem and joined area with floral tape.

rose-close3

I used to white wool roving and did the basic shape of the Koi.  I then began needle felting a better grade of white roving on the fish’s body. Once I got the desired shape, I created the tail, fins and top glider fin.  I have a Koi pond and I have a Koi that looks just like the one I made.

koi2

Responses

  1. This is a wonderful example of how thin you can felt wool. Notice the lovely petals that have a delicate cupping because of this. Great arrangement! Very clever! The koi looks like a butterfly koi with the pretty fins. Nice how you arranged it on the coral! Keep up the great work! HAPPY FELTING!
    ~Gerry

  2. Gerry,

    Thank you for the nice posting on my two creations :) I am happy that you think they are good!

    Linda


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

