Posted by: gourmetfelted | December 26, 2008

MY NEEDLE FELTED DOG-BRUSSELS GRIFFON in ETSY TREASURY~CRICKET by GERRY

december-treasury-2008

I was surprised to get an email today informing me that my cute Brussels Griffon made it into an Etsy Treasury!! It is an honor that I would be picked out of thousands of sellers selling thousands of items. CRICKET is leaning on a pumpkin as she was created in the fall. This is an interesting Treasury as it show dogs in all kinds of mediums. Here is a closer photo of CRICKET.

brussels-griffon1

~CRICKET~QUEEN OF THE PUMPKIN PATCH~

More photos in my Etsy store. Please see

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_gallery_4&listing_id=11336702

Responses

  1. Congratulations, Gerry! You’re becoming a very valuable Treasure! Well deserved!

    Your Golden is darling…. I’ve got to try the open mouth…. Now how is that accomplished?
    Do you form the head as usual with full muzzle….then slice the muzzle… Do you concave the inside… or just make a tongue and add it & then the pigment for the lips? I might need a tutorial for this!!! :-)

    Where did you find a frisbee? Tooooo cute!

  2. Thanks so much Lynne! You have to very firmly felt the muzzle and then slice it open. If you mess it up, just make a new muzzle! I shade the muzzle as desired, then add the tongue last. Be sure to felt it as thin as possible. The frisbee is a miniature.

  3. I was thinking about starting a sculpture…when I realized that I haven’t done any since October….& as I looked back that was also the month that I made my first one…. YIKES!
    I’m going to have to learn all over again….

    My question on the muzzle is…Do you make it separate from the head…and add it on….instead of a muzzle & head at one time…. I was looking back at your wonderful tutorials…It looked like the core dog on your Adding Fur” may not have a muzzle… Do you make the muzzle out of the cover wool…instead of with core wool…adding it on later?

    Thanks! And I’m suppose to make that cairn…OH, MY!!!!

  4. WOW! Your last one was in October? I think that you will remember from October don’t you ? I do always make the muzzle last out of the core wool. Then I cover it with the topcoat, unless it’s a short hair. Then the core wool is the topcoat also. It will be fun to make a cairn! If you need any help, don’t hesitate to ask!!
    HAPPY FELTING!!

  5. Hi,

    I just came across the concept of needle felting a few weeks ago. I ordered a kit & supplies and I can’t wait for them to get here so I can get started!

    I love your blog, and I was just wondering if there’s any way to subscribe for notifications when a new posting comes up? Also, do we just submit postings/pictures/etc through this ‘leave a response section?

    Thanks!!

  6. Hi Kirsty,
    Welcome to my blog! Be sure to go to the bottom of this page to see my post contents. As a new felter you may be interested in: Getting started felting, how to felt, tip of the week, needle felting questions answered, which needle to use, which wool to use, etc. Lots of help for new felters!!

    I will be having a needle felting contest soon and the prize is free wool. People send me their photos to my email address and I make a post for them.

    You do leave comments and questions here. I don’t think that there is an feature for notifications. I’ll have to check into that.

    Do you have any needle felting questions now?
    Be very careful when you first start to use your needle. They are extremely sharp and easily draw blood. You have to always be aware where the tip if. If you push it through the wool, be sure that your finger isn’t there!!OUCH!! We all poke ourselves, but more in the beginning. It does get easier! Don’t give up! I hope to hear from you soon!
    HAPPY FELTING!!

  7. Hi Gerry,

    Thanks for getting back to me so soon! I’ve read every one of the posts on your blog and I’ve learned so much already -I’m so excited!!

    I did have a question actually – I bought some kid mohair from a store and it looked like a ball of fluff, but its actually just one long strand of ‘hair’. Is this what is called ‘carded’?

    I’d love to enter your next competition! Please excuse my ignorance, but where would I find your email address to send an entry to?

    Thanks so much :)!!!

  8. I’m so glad that you learned from my blog. My goal is to help people find the joy of needle felting, because it truly is fun!!

    Don’t be silly…you’re not ignorant! That’s a good question!
    When I make a post opening a competition I include my email address. It will be very soon. First I am posting a sheep tutorial. Be sure to check back.
    Also I’m posting your other question. Thanks for asking!
    HAPPY FELTING!

  9. Hi Gerry! I am fairly new to needle felting and your website has helped me very much with learning what to do. I was wondering if you could suggest what dog breed I should do for my first dog. I think I should start with short hair first then work up to long hair after I am more familiar. Thank you for all the information!

  10. Hi Shannon,
    Welcome to my blog! That is a good question. It is a lot easier to make a short haired dog. Something like a chihuahua is easier that a long hair. Have you felted at all before? I’m so glad that I could help!

  11. Yes I have in a class but not a dog. Do you felt on the black lips when the muzzle is closed? I also saw something about coloring or shading the wool. How do you do that? Thanks!

  12. I felt on the black lips when the muzzle is closed. If the mouth is open, I felt the lips on after. To shade with wool, you add a darker color in just a little wisp of wool and felt it on with out leaving harsh edges. It’s better to add a little at a time, rather than a blob. The wispy shading looks more natural too!

  13. Oh okay, thanks for responding, that explains it really well. Thanks!

    • Your welcome! So glad to help! Ask me questions whenever you need to! HAPPY FELTING!

  14. Do you sell the Brussels Griffon felted? I would love to get one!

    • Hi Laura,
      Yes I do sell my Needle felted sculptures. I have more examples of my Brussels Griffon in my Etsy shop.
      http://www.gfelted.etsy .com
      Thank you for your interest!
      Gerry


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

