Posted by: gourmetfelted | September 30, 2008

YOUR NEEDLE FELTING QUESTIONS ANSWERED~MORE ON FUR!

Good Morning,
I have a question please, I see that you have felted in the middle, so the next step, it to lift up one side and felt under that first part of fur? do you again, needle felt in the middle of the next layer, so you will have a piece that is somewhat long, them needle felt in the middle so that this next piece folds down and is secured in the middle like the first piece?
Debra
Thank you

Hi Debra. Yes that is correct. Each layer folds down over itself and that hides the seam. You could also just felt in along one end if you like that method better. I always start at the top and work my way down. You can cut it first before you felt it in, OR you can leave it long and cut it as you go.

GROOMING:

You definitely have to be sure to brush the snarls out BEFORE felting it in. When you are done, take a large sewing needle and “comb” the fur so that you can trim it and groom it in the appropriate style for the breed. NEEDLE FELTED FUR CANNOT BE BRUSHED OR COMBED! It is felted in, not glued. Very gently “comb” it with a large sewing needle. DO NOT USE YOUR FELTING NEEDLE!!¬† If you push on a felting needle SIDEWAYS they usually BREAK! TRIM off any loose hairs,,,do not pull out! If you are so kind¬† as to give someone one of your felted sculptures, *be sure to include grooming instructions. You wouldn’t want someone to brush your gift and pull the fur out. Sometimes I can spend 30 minutes combing, trimming, shaping and grooming a long coated dog. The effort that you put into it will show!

HAPPY FELTING!!!!

Responses

  1. You certainly did a beautiful job on the little Yorkie, Skipper’s fur! What a lovely job blending the colors, too. I love seeing the results of the different breeds when you make them. It’s amazing what can be copied in felt sculptures! But I must say, those rascally pugs are a hoot!

  2. Good Morning,
    Thank You, great help and insight. I will give it a try, as you know I would like to make a Golden Retriever I will apply this
    Debra

  3. Glad to be of help. Please send me a photo when you are done. I would love to see it!

  4. Not sure if the message i sent friday went through or not so will ask again :) Where does one find the glass eyes for the animals that I have been seeing or does everyone make their own? I have been doing searches and cannot find them anyplace.

  5. Sorry, me again. I guess im login as i can write this mail, hahaha, but i get a page where i should set Bulk actions?? What is that, my english isnt good enough…and site frequency (twice) where it says when do i want emails to come in…i want them in as soon as possible, not between 6-8 am or only monday or something like that.I checked your weblog. But how do i go about all the above please?

    Thanks,
    Marion

    • Hi Marion,
      I just made it easier to follow my blog. Scroll down a little and on the right side it says
      Follow Blog via Email

      Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

      Just click FOLLOW and you’re all set!! I don’t think that you can control WHEN you get the emails. But this way, you won’t miss anything! Sometimes I have contests with free wool or felting kits so you’ll be one of the first to know!! Thank you for your comment!
      Happy Felting!
      ~Gerry

  6. Hi Gerry. First of all let me tell you that I love your work….absolutely amazing!!! I was trying to read one of your old posts: “Protected: NEEDLE FELTING~TUTORIAL~ADDING LONG FUR TO NEEDLE FELTED DOGS~YOUR NEEDLE FELTING QUESTIONS ANSWERED” but it says it is protected. Where can I get a password so that I can read this article? If it’s not possible to read it, could you please suggest some other blog or book where I can read about how to put fur on felted animals? I’ve been looking around on the web but I can’t find anything on it.
    Thanks in advance and continue to make these wonders!!
    Simona


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

